Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesMonday, October 15, 2012
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads
USLS spikers keep

Student-athletes from the University of St. La Salle continued their dominance in the college competition of the Negros Occidental Private Schools Sports Cultural and Education Association with twin victories in men and women’s volleyball yesterday.

The USLS men’s team beat Colegio San Agustin-Bacolod Eagles in three straight sets, 25-19, 25-11, 25-16 to successfully defend their title, while the Lady Stingers replicated the feat in their championship match against University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos, 25-11, 25-10, 26-24.

“Team unity and good communication among the members led us to this victory,” said La Salle men’s team captain Roelene Inaudito.

“One goal down, another one up ahead,” said women’s squad captain Charmaine Moralde as the Lady Stingers start preparing for their title retention bid in the University Games that the USLS will be hosting on October 22-28.

Earlier, the CSA-B men spikers needed five sets to tame the UNO-R Rams in the semifinals to arrange a final showdown against the Stingers.

Bouncing back from an 18-25 first set loss, the Eagles equalized the game in the second set, 25-23, only to yield the momentum in the third set, 16-25.

Determined to reach the final this year, the Eagles dominated the fourth set, 25-15, and summoned all their strength in the final stretch as the Rams put up a hard stance but finally bowed, 20-18.

UNO-R salvaged the third place against John B. Lacson Colleges Foundation.

It was an easy win for the Lady Stingers in their division as they kept their crown after sweeping the two-round eliminations against UNO-R and CSA-B.

Joining Inaudito in the champion USLS men’s volleyball team are Johnmar Aguillon, Jim Ray de Pedro, John Kirby Bernadas, Rezy John Gomez, Kelvin Ray Ilagan, Joey Rey Duran, Kerwin Reje, John Carl Mijares, Paulo Moralde, Ben Positos, Jujen Dennis Yap, and Christian Moises Heradura.

Team members of the champion women’s team are: Moralde, Faye Regine Abano, Tirzah Yandall, Kimberley Mendez, Patty Jane Orendain, Johanna Mae Yanson, Cecil Apatan, Royce Quijano, Sheryl June Denila, Rezziah Aiben Gabo, Graciela Antoinette Mellizo and Gianes Floradel Dolar.

Roger Banzuela mentors both squads with Carl Barredo as assistant coach.*NAB

back to top


ButtonUSLS spikers keep NOPSSCEA crown
ButtonDonaire retains title with TKO in ninth
ButtonTerra Dolce/Jollibee cagers prevail in SJI Alumni championship match
ButtonDe Leon, Ramos rule MassKara bowling tilt