Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesWednesday, July 4, 2012
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads
Sharp Aquos rules
Suppliers bowlfest

Sharp Aquos reigned in the premiere division, as Alimon Steel and Condura ASSFBI Ladies ruled in their respective category of the Suppliers Friendship Cup Open Trio Bowling Championship at the New Top’s Millennium Plaza Alley in Bacolod City.

Mulo Car Aircon of Romulo Ramos topped the men’s rated consolation contest, while Sanyo, anchored by Melchor Samillano dominated the non-rated division. Kami Mga Gwapa captured the title in the women’s bracket.

Teaming up for Sharp Aquos, Edgar De Leon, Nonoy Hulguin, Matt Gaudite and Rey “The Spitfire” Bala-an accounted for 365 pinfalls while Kami Mga Hubin of Wilson Casas, Janggo Jarina and Dodong Paran scored 345 points to settle for first runner-up in the class A division.

In the final game, Sharp of Irne Diaz beat Robbie Elegado’s KMH, 368-287 to arrange a rubber match.

De Leon led his team with a two-game output of 269 points, while Hulguin and Gaudite padded 257 and 209, respectively. Jarina scored 219 for KMH.

Sharp earned the right to challenge the No.1 and twice-to-beat squad by defeating Davies “A” of Edgar Jerez and Romel Jover in the semis, 327-311.

Meanwhile, Davies “A” stopped Silverado ASSFBI in the quarterfinals, 375-288, and sister team Davies “P” in their first final match.

In the non-rated category, Candles/Alimon Steel was declared the champion after winning over FRM Marketing/Sharp in the final showdown, 317-314.

Carrying the colors for Candles were Melot Alimon, Rey Bello and Frantit “D’Cute” Miranda.

Miranda top scored for Candles with 108 pinfalls, while Boy “Alahoy” Wingpo posted the same output for FRM.

Fil Magbojos’ FRM downed St. Joseph Alumni Association in the semi-final, 299-281.

ESD Electronz placed third runner-up, while Rey Oreta’s Metro Sales settled for fourth place.

In the women’s contest, top seed and twice-to-beat Condura/ASSFBI Ladies bagged the title despite a 298-all deadlock against Tiger Eye in the final game.

Tiger Eye won over ASSFBI in the first game, 304-303 squeaker.

The members of the winning team were Sylvia del Rosario, Juliet Regollo and Lea Javier.

SJS-LS Adventurer’s piloted by Stella Ongsingco and Vilma Robles’ Davies Fusion placed second and third runners-up, while Retro headed by Leah Uy was fourth in the overall tally.*HLG

back to top


ButtonToyota-Bacolod stays undefeated
ButtonSharp Aquos rules Suppliers bowlfest
ButtonYBAC turn-over rites set July 7